Showing posts with label singapore. Show all posts
Showing posts with label singapore. Show all posts

Sunday, May 2, 2010

Sundown Meltdown

*Update*
I might be staying at one of the hostels in Joo Chiat Road as they are the nearest hostels Changi Airport. Now transportation: if some of us are meeting somewhere beforehand then it would be great since we can go to the race venue together. If that is the case, I could book hostels near the town since MRT would be in abundance (the one in Joo Chiat road requires me to walk a bit and coming back at 1am like that... i dont think so)

I have a slight problem.

 Last year, in a haste and caught up with all the hype and excitement, I registered for Sundown. I checked the 21k box. I like 21k. Just as I like 10k. And I want to do another 21k because I thought back then that I would be ready. I mean, I was in the midst of 'recovery and resting' and my next race was only 2 months away (ENR) you know, you know...

 Forgetting about my knees, which is more to paranoia than actual pain (I hope so, but I am being very very careful with them still), I have lost the mental ability to cope with longer runs. Some parts of it were due to lack of training - my legs and body feel uncomfortable at 10k mark now - and of course the big part is that I have forgotten what it felt like to run for longer distances. All I could think about is how tiring it would be, since I was struggling to complete a 10k. And since I've been doing a lot more of something else other than running my mindset has somewhat changed. I think running in general is tiring. Maybe I'm just ridiculously scared for my knees but it is - gasp - dangerous too. Oh God help me I've been rudely converted! Now I know why non runners think runners are crazy.

 So my next race would be the Sundown and I'm seriously considering not to go. So many excuses come to my mind now - the exact opposite when I was dying to enter races, so many reasons I give to myself - the trip is expensive, haven't booked for transportation, hotel, don't know who to bring along, etc etc.

 I have 3 more weeks to get ready for a 21k. So far I've only managed to do about 4 5ks and that's it. 

 Plan A:
 - Run on Tuesdays. (5-6ks)
- Do a longer run on Sunday.  But this could be hard since I have reserved my weekends for activities other than running. Unless I run later, say at 10am. Or maybe I could run in the evening. Running has no rules right? But I'm looking forward to run with friends who are going to attempt all the same races I would. Hmmm.
- Maybe run on Thursdays too. But this is optional since I don't want to overdo the running.

Plan B
- have someone pick up my bib since I'm not going.

 To other Sundown runners: how are you guys going to Singapore? By bus, driving there, or by plane? And what's the nearest hotel/hostel there? Need to figure out my budget and what to say/explain to parents since I just got back from Singapore.

Friday, April 30, 2010

Lion City Weekend

I'm going to the South this weekend for some nice experience and craziness. 

 Singapore to me is like the Asian version of America. I grew up with american magazines therefore wanting almost everything they have in the pages. Malaysia don't always carry their brands or label and Singapore is the closest one that one could go to and get some.

 When I was crazy with my crafting, Singapore (other than ebay and etsy) was my go to spot for some knick knacks or other craft tools you couldn't find in Malaysia. You name it, Olfa blades, Elmer's Glue, etc. When I was obsessed with sewing my own clothes, Singapore turned me into a crazy shopaholic. I scoured every little back alleys and tailor shops for the most authentic and cutesy fabrics as well as ribbons, patterns, and other sewing paraphernalia. 

And now that my focus is on running, I am out of control. When I went to Singapore last year for Std Chartered, walking into their malls was a test of willpower (similar to running a marathon?) since I was broke. Every other shop was a running store, and the socks, shoes, clothes all called out my name, pleading for me to take them home. I went in a couple of shops and I wanted them all - the socks, shoelaces, heart rate monitors, even the chi energy necklaces! Suddenly I understood what it feels like to want to be rich. Imagine being able to whisk all these products into the shopping cart without mentally calculating in your head how much it costs.

 Things I think I want (or need):
 
- One of those compression tights things. They look so comfortable and I have always been a sucker for good advertising. This one makes me believe my legs would be super strong by just slipping into them! And if they don't work at least I have a super nice 'leggings' to block out the sun's ray hahah
- Garmin Forerunner. I have to declare this: I LOVE GPS. For my senior year project, I did something GPS based and I think the technology rocks like youhavenoidea. A GPS device that is designed for runners? GET OUT OF TOWN. Also, as much as I enjoy running without knowing the time and distance, if I had to choose, I rather lose the time and have the distance. I like collecting distance. You don't call it a distance sports for nothing if you don't obsess over the miles, right? (coverline sebab mmg slow)
- Better Knee Guard. I have decided to keep using my patella stabilizer (or plain ol' knee guards) for my runs therefore I want a nice and proper one to replace this pair that is about to wear out from constant use. The highly recommended pair costs a bomb! Urgh, I need money. (Or to rob a bank).
- Hydration Belts. I don't know why but I nearly bought one last year. The whole idea of it is very tempting. But this was when I thought I would be running marathons.
- Shoes. A given. I don't even know what I want or what suits me. I ran in Power shoes and only recently upgraded to New Balance. But my most used pairs are my two trusty Reeboks. See? Nak jugak merasa Asics sebenarnya hehehehe.

 The list might go on if I allow myself to daydream but the first three would be my top wants. They are also, the top three expensive things. Actually, other than the hydration belts they all could cause a dent to my paycheck. 

 When I reach this stage I try to tell myself that running is the simplest sport. It only requires a pair of (good) shoes and your willingness to keep going. I have met an uncle who runs like the wind and uses the timer on his cellphone as his running watch. He should be wearing all the gazookas  - he deserves a better running watch, not me!

 Okay, gotta continue my packing. See ya all you weekend warriors.

Saturday, December 12, 2009

Standard Chartered Singapore Marathon


My second half-marathon preparation was - from the start - messy with many unplanned details. I was late to book for the bus, I accidentally double booked the hostel, this and that. Since my bestfriend had accompanied me for the Great Eastern and my sister for the PBIM, my boyfriend decided to become my supporter. Friday night, he told me that we might have to change the time on our bus tickets since he had an important football selection on Sunday evening.

So early in the morning we were at first coach bandar utama asking if it was possible for us to change our tickets back from 5pm to 10am. they said no. Not wanting to give up, I called the singapore;s first coach whose response was, "sure!" But we decided to change the time to 1045am in case I did not manage to finish within 3 hours.

The ride to Singapore was uneventful. I watched one of my favorite movies, armageddon, and cried buckets much to my boyfriend's dismay. He later told me that the whole bus heard me sobbing. I could not help it, the touching father-daughter scenes at the end will always make me cry, no matter how macho I believe myself to be. and it's Bruce Willis!

When we arrived (at 3pm) we went straight to the expo to get my race kit. as I walked towards it I was surprised to see that the Penguin Book sale was just beside! It was all I could do to stop myself from entering. I am currently financially unstable ever since I signed the SNP of my first property ever (my first thought upon signing: rasa macam adult!) and adding to the fact that I (might) be going to L.A in January I am not even in the state to buy a pencil.

We checked in at our hostel, a comfy, laid-back building in the little india area. The 6 bed mixed dorms were the only ones available when I booked but only 4 people including us was in the room. As usual i opted for the bunk below hahaha.

Fast forward to the race day. No one in the hostel were participating in the race so we were the only ones who got out at about 550 am (I thought subuh was at 545) We walked to little india MRT but it was closed. I was taken aback and stunned. This was poor planning on my part as I had stupidly expected that it would be opened. We had only $4 with us and I left my atm card at home - we did not have enough for a taxi fare. and I have no map that could lead us to City hall. We alked blindly for a few minutes asking random sleepy people until we bumped into another malaysian runner Jeff, who was on the way to do his 10k. By that time (610 am), Bugis mrt was open.

Me and Jeff on the way to Bugis MRT.

At the starting line not only was I sweaty (from panicking and walking fast) but i realized that I am way unprepared. I was holding two water bottles: one filled with OSR and one just water. I did this with PBIM and had no problem running holding two bottles, in fact, my running was better because I had something to hold on to. But this time around I was also carrying my two ointments - a counterpain and some analgesic ointment prescribed by my doctor for my knees. I had wanted to buy an SPI belt but did not get the chance to the night before as we were lost in the city after having dinner. so in desperation I did the unthinkable - stuffed them in my sports bra with a quick prayer to god that they won't chafe me until I bleed to death.

I started the race ok, running at my usual relaxed 7mins/km pace. I sipped the OSR, looked at other runners, enjoyed the view.

And then my feet hurt.
And hurt.

Im sure all of you have experienced plantar fasciitis. Mine is highly serious due to bad recovery (or none at all!) and it hurt like you have no idea. Mostly I have problems with my arches and not the heel itself. Still, it's a bad bad bad bad thing to have when you need to use your feet to run another 16 km. And then, came the second bad thing: I started to worry about the race.

I hate it when it happens to me. The moment my mind goes, "Damn... this is tiring," the feeling will NEVER stop. It will not stop until I finish the race. The were races where I felt this: Siemens, Great Eastern 10k, and races where I felt wonderful: Mizuno, PBIM. This time, I felt the BIG BAD tiring feeling. And guess what? It continued all the way until the end. I tried tot hink about something else: my new shoes, ..... but nothing came to mind except, "When is this going to end this HURTS!!"

At 10km mark I felt mentally drained. My knees started to hurt so bad that I was forced to slow down and walk. I repeated this cycle - walk, run, walk - for a good 5 km. I started to feel insanely hungry. And because I've been bracing my whole body from the knee pain, i.e, trying not to put pressure on the left leg I've accidentally tightened up my entire body which resulted in cramps in my stomach even though I've been steadily drinking the OSR. I can't remember how many times I stopped to re-apply the counter pain to noth myknees and my arches. and I've never been so relieved to see the km markers on the way. One km was a horrible distance to cover when your feet's on fire!

At 15km I looked at my watch and it was 1 hour and 59 minutes. That means I could cover the remaining 6km in about 30 minutes or so, allowing me to finish it in 2hrs 30 mins (my target time, walaupun tak practice langsung boleh lagi nak berangan...) YEAH RIGHT. My feet were screaming bloody murder and I was forced to walk until I reached 18km - slow painful steps. By that time I've passed my 2hrs 50 minutes time from PBIM and I could not care less. I just wanted to finish it! My wristwatch came off and luckily someone tapped me on the shoulder and I had to reverse a couple of steps to retrieve it.

At the last 1km, knowing my boyfriend would be at the sideline waiting, I forced myself to run (hahaha ego gila!), thinking that I'll never hear the end of it if he saw me walking to the finish line. I guess it was adrenaline and knowing that my pain would soon be over, but i didn't even remember feeling the pain in both my feet and knees. I was busy trying to look like I'm some sort of a pro-runner carrying two water bottles, for the benefit of my boyfriend who had the camera. But I was soon humbled as I crossed the finish line with the time ticking above to
3:00:50 (official time, 2:58 was based on my wristwatch).

My favorite quotes (that I can remember):
1) Quitters never run, Runners NEVER quit.
2) I like men chasing me.
3) For Grandpa :) (I just think there is a story behind this. I always have a soft spot for male role models)
4) Breakfast after the run! YUM.
and my personal favorite:

"Nothing is Impossible. The Impossible JUST takes longer..." The lady wearing it was a slightly chubby girl with a determined look on her face, slowly running. It literally made me go Wow when I read it. It's true. Whatever you think is impossible - it just takes a little longer. you only have to go through with it, grit your teeth, and finish. Throughout the race, whenever I felt sucky about finishing with a bad time, I thought of that lady runner whom I left behind 10km back, who probably would finish late but I bet she would be super proud of herself. Because I am too. I hoped she had a really good race because her quote really helped me.

Anyway to top the crazy weekend, without having the time to shower, me and boyfriend hopped on our bus (1045am) so that he could catch his football selection at 530pm. I only managed to change my underwear at the immigration stop.

Yay Me!! Look at my running form - heel strike. No wonder I have all the injuries!

Spiderman runs too! I wonder how he could withstand the heat.

Sunday, December 6, 2009

Running with Injury: Post Standard Chartered

 I completed my second half-marathon for this year at the much talked about Standard Chartered Singapore Marathon. I am back now at home, nursing my massive swollen knees and foot. One look at them and my doctor went, "WHAT DID YOU DO?" I think I might not be running for the Malakoff. I know I'm swearing off (or have to) running next year for about at least 2 months. I can't stand running any more races feeling like hell throughout. For this race, I suffered body cramps - at my stomach, upper back - from bracing the severe pain of my knees. At 7km mark, I told myself, "Maybe I should stop this." And then I saw a message on the back of one runners: Quitters never run, Runners never quit. Oh WELL!

 I finally finished the whole 21km of running on hot coals and hot rods at the horrible but gratifying time of 2:58. I do not care what anyone thinks of this time. I completed my second 21km without so much of a training, with runners knees and plantar fasciitis, and after 5 months of jumping into this running scene. To think my first race was McDonalds run, and back then 7km felt like going to Johore. I was so proud of myself. Still am.

 I want to thank my boyfriend for being a great total support and a great fan, waiting at the sidelines (patiently) until I appeared. Here's to many more years.

 How about you guys?

 Detailed stories and pictures later. 

Tuesday, November 3, 2009

too lazy to write

so I'm going to put in pictures...

My dad posing before we head out to UPM at 545 am. He looks like an excited  7 year old school boy on his first day of school. He ran a good race, considering that the route had double hills at the end and that his knees weren't really good as well. He thought that the Milo and 100 plus drinks that were being served out weren't free, so he just waited there dying of thirst until I arrived (I had the money in my pants). When I told him that they were gloriously free, he was ecstatic. I think he must have had 10 Milo cups.


The Great Eastern Women 10k. The elite runners were in front of the pack. This was just minutes before the race begins. It was cloudy. I don't like running in cloudy weather. 

 The race for me was quite horrible. I didn't know why but as I was just starting I started to have that discouraging thought, something like, "Oh, I'm going to get so tired," and sure enough that was what I felt throughout the whole race. 3km was a LOONG distance to cover. I was so surprised at my lack of mental strength. It was a flat route mostly, for which my legs were grateful for, but I was kinda hoping some hills were involved. I like hilly courses, especially going uphill. I think I run even faster uphill than downhill. 

 When I reached kilometre 5, I felt lightheaded. I wasn't sure what the reason was; I actually nibbled on a piece of bread earlier in the morning when I never ate anything in any of my race before. They had drinks out ever 2.5k. I drank some at 5k. 

 I was actually struggling at the 8km. My breathing was a bit labored and I felt sick. The last stretch was near to the ocean so it was nice to see the sun peeking through the clouds. The whole time I was using this matsalleh girl as my pacer - she was running steadily which was was I need, and I told myself to not lose the sight of her. 

 The best part of running in a race for me is that - pacing. I like to target someone or a couple of someone in a race and then challenge myself to try to keep up or beat them. During KOTR, I had several pacesetters - and whenever I sped by one I targeted another one. I find that doing that appeals to the inner competitive geek in me - I get to compete with my pacesetters - and its either I win or lose.

 Anyway I'm going to retrace back to Mizuno run, which was a greeeeaat run. I wasn't even tired. I was pacing this girl in a blue headscarf and at kilometer 5 she picked up the pace and left me waay behind. But since the end of the race were just hills, I caught up with her. I was so proud - hey my knees were burning and throbbing like they're Brazilian dancers on fire.

 One thing helped me a lot in the Great Eastern with my knees. I went to this shop called Motion Sport in Paragon Mall, initially wanting to look for a pair of headbands for my boyfriend's shaggy hair during football, but I went out of it with this knee contraception called Patella Stabilizer. And it was AWESOME. My knees didn't even utter a squeak. After the race before we head back, my friend and I headed back to  the shop where I bought another pair for my dad.

 I'm having a headache... guess I have to cut this supposedly long entry with many pictures short. i know what a downer!